Wisdom of Life

Winner’s Club – Nabagram,Siliguri

Winner’s Club, as the name symbolizes, is an organization of vibrant youths who want to transform the society by their active involvement in Social, Cultural and Sports activities. The Club started its journey by hoisting our National Flag by the Founder and President, Sri Jagadish Chandra Chanda, on 26th January, 1976.

The Members, specially elders, still remember the old days of 1976, when some energetic youths with the active participation of Sri Dulal Chandra Das, of Railway Colony, started road link between Babupara and New Jalpaiguri. Ultimately, this area of Babupara, New Jalpaiguri and Kawakhali renamed as Nabagram, where the Winner’s Club is fully devoted in transforming the youths in a socially conscious people.

In those days of sixties, some philanthropers of that area, amidst there busy schedule of service and business, founded a school named Nabagram Primary School. Youths of that area started playing Football in adjacent playground of School and gradually a Club was born in the name of ‘Little Star’.

Little Star gradually started playing football with other clubs, started winning Trophies, and became big one in course of time. And finally a rebirth taken place by naming it as Winner’s Club.

Started with football, Volley Ball, Cricket, the biggest and most extravagant project is Celebration of Durga Puja involving all sections of society in a very big way.

‘Nataraj Dance’ by Smt.Kaberi Sharma, mesmerized everybody by her enchanting dance. Blood Donation Camps were regular programmes of the club. Football Coaching Camp started in 1992, with guidance from Sri KanchanSarkar brought many players in limelight and later on they were well established in their service life.

One of the Greatest Achievement of Winners Coaching Camp, is the selection of Master Little Seal for attending a Camp in Germany for advancement. Club Secretary, Sri KartikMazumdar, has kindly arranged for financial assistance for his German trip. DipankarDebnath has qualified for Santosh Trophy; Sanjib Deb and Biswajit Das have qualified for Mohan Bagan Junior team in Kolkata.

Winner’s Club has bagged countless prizes from local administration for arranging Durga Puja in a most successful way and became the talk not only of the town but also of the State of West Benga. Local Administration has awarded the Durga Puja of this club as the Best one in Siliguri. It is also the winner of Tapas Tarafdar Memorial Cup irganized by Siliguri Veteran Players Association

There is no doubt that the club along with its President, Kalikrishna Ghosh and Secretary, Karthik Majumdar and other committee members is planting the seeds of social awareness amongst the youths of this town in a most dedicated way.


About Author: Ankit

Ankit Bansal started website development since 2008 and is a M. Sc.IT degree holder from KUVEMPU University. He started blogging in year 2010 and pumped up different topics like technology, career, health and travel in his blog. His websites has continuously jumped up in alexa ranking over due course of time. He now runs his own SEO and Website Development firm, RS Infosolution in Siliguri, West Bengal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge